Indie Authors Supporting Indie Authors

Hey there 134 followers (love watching that number go up),

This weeks post is about getting the support of fellow indie authors and I’m about to rant.

  
Is supporting other indie Authors even a thing?

When I first made the decision to self publish, I was being very naive. I didn’t do a whole lot of research. I just knew that I had a story to tell and I didn’t want to go through the whole rejection process that typically goes along with traditional publishing. Little did I know self publishing is HUGE.

I didn’t realize the “competition” in the indie author field was so large. I got a rude awakening when I joined several Facebook groups and was suddenly hit with thousands of indie authors trying to promote their work.

The thing that stuck out to me the most was everyone’s lack of support for one another. I purchased several books from these groups because a) I love reading and b) I love supporting people trying to reach their goals and make their dreams come true. I thought that was the point of these groups but I feel like I was wrong.

Yes, we’re doing all of these follow for follow on social media but is that enough? Are we in such a dog eat dog world that we have no time or care to help a brother or sister out?

I feel like we are so focused on getting our work out there that we’re ignoring the opportunity that is in front of us. Giving it the support that you want in return. I mean, we’ve got o stick together and if you can’t afford to buy up a bunch of indie books, how about trying a read for a read? Offer your book to an author for free in exchange for an honest review and return you will do the same for them.

Authors, especially indie authors, make their bread and butter off of reviews. Who cares if you just gave your book away for free? If it helps you in the long run, isn’t it worth it?

I don’t regret supporting other authors, even if the favor wasn’t returned. I just think as a community we need to do a little better.

Okay, that’s all I had this week. If you are interested in actually supporting your fellow indie authors join my Facebook group. Click the image below if you would like to become a VIP Lovebug and get everything first. Be sure to check out the books below for a good read in honor of National Book Day.

Until next time… Keep Calm and Journey On 💜

IMG_6822-0

Author: TaQuanda Taylor

TaQuanda Taylor is a native of Rochester, NY. She studied at School of the Arts high school as a drama major. TaQuanda moved to Brooklyn, NY in 2007. In 2011 TaQuanda made an active decision to pursue a career in writing. She enrolled in the Creative Writing for Entertainment program at Full Sail University where she is working on her Bachelors degree in Fine Arts.

Leave a Reply

