Show Vs Tell

Hey Love Bugs,

Many new authors struggle with the show vs tell aspect of writing a book. When do you show and when do you tell? What is showing and telling?

What is showing and telling?

Showing is when you describe the hell out of a character, location or emotional. Pretty much anything. I read a story recently where the author did not describe the female main character. I mean, nothing. It was completely left to the reader to imagine this character. This could work for you or against you. I can’t tell you when you can avoid showing your characters, that is a decision you have to make on your own, but I will tell you that if I am supposed to be impressed with the look of a character; say for example a hunky male being TOLD that he is a hunky guy is not enough to make me lust after him.

Telling is when you simply tell the reader what is going on. (They walked down the street alone) vs (They walked down the desolate street. The wind blowing lightly around them as they searched around for someone, anyone). One is telling you that the characters are alone and the other is showing you. [Probably not great examples but you get the point]

Never feel that you have to show everything. You don’t want to overwhelm your reader with long drawn out descriptions. SHOW them what they need to see and TELL them what they need to know.

That’s all I have for you and now on to other news.

So I was recently going through my emails and liking a bunch of old blog posts when I realized that I wasn’t even reading all of them. I was reading some but I was mainly just hitting the like button and that got me to thinking… How many of you actually read my post and how many of you just hit like and move on?

I decided to create a post to put this to the test. I’m just a little curious.

Anyways I am getting ready to release my second book and I started writing the third. Plus the first one is still available for purchase and it is just $9.99 so why haven’t you purchased one?

That’s all I wanted to say. A short and sweet post just the way I like it.

Please stop by and join my Facebook reading group to have a little fun with my books. You must be a Wattpad. Purchase my first book and sign up for my newsletter.

Now for the fun part.

The first person to answer the below question correctly and prove that you read this post in its entirety will win a prize.

How much is my first book?

Let’s see if you’re really reading.

Until next time… Love, Peace & Chicken Grease.

Author: TaQuanda Taylor

TaQuanda Taylor is a native of Rochester, NY. She studied at School of the Arts high school as a drama major. TaQuanda moved to Brooklyn, NY in 2007. In 2011 TaQuanda made an active decision to pursue a career in writing. She enrolled in the Creative Writing for Entertainment program at Full Sail University where she is working on her Bachelors degree in Fine Arts.

1 thought on “Show Vs Tell”

Leave a Reply

