{Excerpt} One Shot, Two Shots

I’ve been trying to keep busy and I am about 14% (LOL) done with my second book.

My first book was book one to my Paranormal Drama.

My second book is book one to my Urban Drama.

You Have Been Warned.

Here’s a quick excerpt:


 

Chapter Thirty-Four

Haimi threw her phone on the bed. Crystal had been blowing her phone up and she did not want to talk to that girl. She was starting to get annoyed. It was funny how the tables had turned. Crystal swore that David was going to keep messing with her even though Haimi was having his baby. She had called Haimi after David had ended things with her, going off. Now it was too the point where Haimi didn’t even want to answer her phone.

Haimi had tried to tell the girl that they weren’t going to last but she didn’t want to believe her. Now she was getting a rude awakening.

Her phone started vibrating again and she rolled her eyes. When was she going to take a hint? David didn’t want anything to do with her and neither did Haimi. She got up and left her room leaving her phone behind. She grabbed a Popscicle from the freezer and went to sit out on the front steps. Anything to get away from her annoying phone.

Haimi hadn’t been sitting out there long before Rain walked over and joined her.

“Hey girl.”

“What’s up?” Haimi asked.

She was still keeping such a big secret from her best friend.

“What’s up with you? You’ve been acting a little funny.”

“Just the fact that Crystal’s been blowing my phone up.”

“What she want?”

“What do you think? She wants David’s ass but he ain’t fucking with her no more so she over there going crazy I guess and bugging the hell out of me.”

“How you know he not messing with her anymore?”

“Cause she told me when she called last night. Serves her right. I just don’t understand the desire to mess with somebody else’s man.”

“Cause she desperate. Only desperate females would do something like that and be completely okay with it.”

“I know right. All them boys at her school and she had to mess with mine. But I get it, I wouldn’t want to mess with any of them dirty ass boys either.”

“Speaking of dirty, I hope you been getting tested if you sleeping with David and he over there sleeping with that girl.”

“Trust me, he clean. He know not to bring anything back to me.”

“Oh, I was going to say.”

“What were you going to say?”

“You dirty,” Rain laughed.

“Whatever,” Haimi laughed and playfully pushed Rain.

I am not dirty. I am probably the cleanest girl you know.”

“If you say so. So when was the last time you talked to David?”

“Yesterday. Why?”

“I was just wondering if he talked to Mark. That boy jumped into one of Niice’s fights and after we took off running, I haven’t talked to him.”

“Why y’all took off running?”

“Cause the cops showed up.”

“Where did this happen?”

“Over at the park.”

“I wish they would all stop hanging around Niice ass. He’s going to get somebody shot one day.”

“I know. I be trying to tell Mark that he ain’t got nothing to do with Niice and his drama. You see Lamar out there selling now.”

“Yeah I saw that. I don’t know why they want to be in his mess. Like, who wants to be like Niice? He is not the shit. They need to following behind him and take their asses to school.”

“True but you know if David had been there he would have been right in that fight.”

“No he wouldn’t have. David can’t fight.”

“You stupid,” Rain laughed.

“I’m serious. That boy has never been in a fight before. He just big for no reason.”

“I can’t stand you.”

“When was the last fight you saw David in?” Haimi asked.

“I don’t know.”

“That’s cause he’s never been in one before.”

“You a savage.” Rain shook her head. “So what made David end things with Crystal?”

“I don’t even know,” Haimi lied. She still wasn’t ready for anybody to know that she was pregnant. “I guess he decided he was done with her. I’m just happy the whole thing is over.”

“I will never get why you didn’t break up with him.”

“What you mean?”

“I mean I don’t understand why you kept messing with him after you found out about the girl.”

“Man, I can’t even explain it.”

“I’m just saying you’re better than me because I would have dropped Mark real quick.”

“What was that?”

Haimi and Rain turned to see Mark and David walk up to the house.

“What you say?” Mark asked.

“You heard me,” Rain said.

“Nah, I think I misheard you. Repeat it,” Mark said stopping in front of Rain.

David leaned over and kissed Haimi on her cheek.

“I said if you were to start messing around on me then I would break up with you,” Rain stated.

“Where that come from?” Mark asked.

“We talk about our little situation.” Haimi motioned between her and David.

“Leave me out of this. I don’t have a situation,” David said.

“Really?” Haimi cocked her head at him.

“That’s you problem now,” Mark said to Rain.

“What are you talking about?” Rain asked shocked.

“You spend too much time worried about what’s going on in other people’s relationships and not enough with yours.”

“Is there something going on in my relationship that I should know about?” Rain questioned.

“I don’t think I stuttered.”

“No you didn’t but you also didn’t say what the problem is.”

“If you don’t know I don’t know what to tell you.”

Mark walked away and the three of them were left watching him. Rain jumped up and ran after him calling his name.

“Do you know what that is about?” Haimi asked.

“Rain’s not giving it up,” David said sitting down beside her.

“He’s mad because she won’t sleep with him? Uh-uh that’s just messed up.”

“That’s not our business,” David said.

“But that is my friend and that’s your friend. You need to talk to him. He shouldn’t be pressuring her to have sex. Hell, they could end up in our situation.”

“I don’t see nothing wrong with our situation,” David said nonchalantly.

“Of course you don’t. Oh, you need to talk to Crystal cause she keep blowing up my phone and it’s starting to piss me off.”

“Just ignore her and she’ll go away.”

“I tried that and then she showed up at my house.”

Haimi pointed to the small white car that came to a stop in front of her house. Crystal climbed out. Her hair was wild and her lip looked busted. Haimi turned to look at David and he was glaring at her. Haimi looked back at Crystal as she walked up to the house.

“Oh so you think you can just break up with me and sit over here with this bitch? You got my fucked up. And you too good to answer your damn phone?”

“First, who are you calling a bitch? Second, I didn’t answer my phone because I didn’t want to talk to you,” Haimi said pointedly.

“Did I tell you to watch your mouth when talking about my girl?” David said heated.

“Your girl? So now that’s your girl? That wasn’t your girl when you was all up under my ass. That’s your girl though?’

“Yeah my girl.”

“Oh but when you was calling me and fucking me, that wasn’t your girl now was it?”

“If you’re trying to get a reaction out of me it’s not going to work because I already know he was messing with you so you’re just making yourself look stupid,” Haimi said calmly.

“Who you calling stupid? Bitch I will fuck you up.”

“I’m not going to fight you.”

“Why cause you pregnant?”

“Will you shut up?”

“Oh you don’t want nobody to know?” Crystal asked her head cocked to the side. “You don’t want anybody to know that you’re pregnant!” Crystal started shouting at the top of her lungs about Haimi being pregnant. All of her friends lived on the street and she didn’t want anyone to know. Plus her dad was inside.

“Please get your girl before I hurt her,” Haimi said turning to David.

“You’re pregnant and that’s not my girl.”

“Well you better shut her up.”

David got up from the porch quickly and put his hand to Crystal’s throat. Haimi wanted to tell him to stop but she didn’t want to get in the middle of it. She had never seen David like that before. It was a little scary.

David forcefully pushed Crystal back against her car. Tears were rolling down her face and he was speaking to her in a menacing, whispered tone. It was so low that Haimi couldn’t make out what he was saying but by the terrified look on Crystal’s face she knew it wasn’t good.

Haimi got up from the porch and walked over to them putting her hand on David’s arm.

“David, what the hell is wrong with you? Let her go.” She pulled at his arm but his grip was loosening. It didn’t seem tight enough to real hurt Crystal but it was still pretty scary that he was doing it.

Haimi continued to tug and practically beg David to let Crystal go. Suddenly David was yanked back away from Crystal with such force that Haimi nearly fell because she was holding onto David’s arm. They all turned to see Haimi’s dad Aaron standing in between Crystal and David.

“Are you okay?” he asked.

Crystal put her hand to her neck and nodded slowly.

“Go on home.”

Crystal rounded her car and climbed inside. She started it and drove away quickly. Aaron turned to David and stepped to him.

“You like to put your hands on females?” he asked.

“Nah. I just got a little upset,” David said backing down.

“If I ever catch you putting your hands on another girl I’m going to show you what happens to boys who don’t know how to keep their hands to themselves. You understand me?” Aaron threatened.

David only nodded.

“Get out of here.”

“Yo take me home,” David said to Haimi.

“No. Take the bus or walk,” Aaron interjected.

David sucked his teeth and turned and walked away.

Aaron didn’t turn to look at Haimi he just started up the steps to the house.

“Go you to your room, Haimi,” he said walking into the house.

Haimi’s heart was beating so fast. She slowly walked up the steps and into the house. She passed her dad and got up to her room. She closed her door and sat down on the bed. Instinctively she grabbed her cell phone and looked at the messages from Crystal. The last one caught her attention.

From: Crystal 1:06 P.M.

He’s going to do the same thing to you. Where do you think I got the busted lip from?

Haimi thought about that for a minute. Seeing David like that was a shock. She knew he had a little bit of a temper but she knew him and she knew he wasn’t the type to want to fight anyone. He had never put his hands on her. There had been that one little threat but she didn’t think he would go through with it. It had only been to make her want to keep the baby, which she was going to do.

Plus, he had only been standing up for Haimi. Of course he had taken it too far but he had just overacted.

She couldn’t really think about that though. She was almost positive that her dad had heard Crystal shouting, which meant that he knew that she was pregnant. She was kind of happy that he had sent her to her room because it gave her some time to think.

Did she lie and say that Crystal was just trying to start something or did she admit to it?

Did she wait for her dad to ask or did she say something first to get it out of the way?

She would have to come up with a plan by the time he asked her to leave her room.


 

There it is. I hope you guys have enjoyed reading this as much as I have writing it.

Until next week… Love, Peace & Chicken Grease.

Author: TaQuanda Taylor

TaQuanda Taylor is a native of Rochester, NY. She studied at School of the Arts high school as a drama major. TaQuanda moved to Brooklyn, NY in 2007. In 2011 TaQuanda made an active decision to pursue a career in writing. She enrolled in the Creative Writing for Entertainment program at Full Sail University where she is working on her Bachelors degree in Fine Arts.

Leave a Reply

