Writing Update: What Can I Say?

Hey Love Bugs,

So I didn’t publish a post yesterday because when I got home from work my back was really bothering me so I went to sleep.

I knew that I couldn’t miss two days without publishing so I wanted to make sure I brought you all a Writing Update but I wasn’t sure what I was going to say. Actually, I’m still not sure what I am going to say so I hope you don’t mind if  just write and maybe something good will come of it.

I decided not to re-publish my first book. Instead I just re-did the cover and made it free on kindle. So now I am working on a new project. I didn’t want to talk about it too much because I am what you call a project starter.

I am really good at starting things but finishing them…

You guys are probably aware of this considering I mentioned about two different titles I was supposed to release but have yet to.

Releasing my first book was a big deal to me. I have notebooks full of stories I’ve started and stopped. Scripts that I began but never finished. So the fact that I managed to finish a book and release it…. I will probably celebrate that day forever.

Now that I think about it, the only reason I managed to finish it was because I wanted to release around my late grandmother’s birthday. She had passed away the year before and it was really hard on me and I knew she would be proud of me.

You can read all about that in the dedication page of my book.

Since then I haven’t been able to finish a single project. I don’t know what the issue is. I start writing, everything is going really good and then a different story idea will pop up in my head and I jump up onto that instead. There’s just so much going on in my head and it sucks that I can’t write it all at once. I can’t seem to ever get everything else to take a backseat while I work on my current project. Which is why I call myself a project starter.

Anyone else dealing with this?

Any tips on how to actually finish a project?

Comment and let me know what you guys think.

I won’t be posting during the weekend but I’ll be back on Monday with a Book News post and if you want more Writing Updates look for it next Friday.

Enjoy your weekend and until next week… Love, Peace & Chicken.

Author: TaQuanda Taylor

TaQuanda Taylor is a native of Rochester, NY. She studied at School of the Arts high school as a drama major. TaQuanda moved to Brooklyn, NY in 2007. In 2011 TaQuanda made an active decision to pursue a career in writing. She enrolled in the Creative Writing for Entertainment program at Full Sail University where she is working on her Bachelors degree in Fine Arts.

2 thoughts on “Writing Update: What Can I Say?”

  1. I’m the same… it really annoys me.

    I started a project a while ago and I reached about 35,000 words before I just couldn’t write anymore. I think it pays to know if you’re just having a bad day, or whether it’s just not worth pursuing your current work in progress.

    I normally stick to short pieces of work, because I know I can finish them (which sucks, because a part of me does want to write a novel). The only longish things I’ve ever finished are scripts. Maybe my mind is trying to tell me that’s what I should do with my life.

    Perhaps I will just work on several things, and build up the total word count goal as I go.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

