Book News: The Decision Has Been Made

Hey Love Bugs,

If you remember my post Writing Update: Starting From The Bottom I mentioned having to work on my book from the beginning after my hard drive failed. Don’t worry I am saving everything I do in a dropbox now.

Anyways, because I had to start over I opted not to work on that book I was talking about because I was struggling for a while before the death of my hard drive. Writer’s block was kicking my butt. Plus, I have so many story ideas roaming around my brain that while I’m working on one I’m thinking of another.

So I decided that I was going to rewrite my first book. Crazy I know but I felt that it could have been so much better. Well, I will not be doing that thanks to my mother.

I was discussing the book with her and she was all “what are you doing?” and “why are you rewriting it?” I tried to explain to her my reasons and she had to set me straight. She let me know that the book is good. That a friend of hers is currently reading the book and loves it and that I need to believe in myself.

I admit that I have a hard time doing that. Especially considering the fact that the book hasn’t been doing well. I doubt myself. I believe that I have a good story. Why do I believe this? Because I know everything that happens throughout the entire series. You guys, I have been thinking about this story for so long. It was originally an idea I had for a TV series but I decided to write it as a book series to gain a fan base for it. I know things that happen so far in the series and I don’t mean to toot my own horn but it’s good.

What I’m doubting is the writing part because honestly writing was never my first passion, acting was. So sometimes I wonder if I’m a good writer or just a good idea person. I’m learning to believe in myself a little more.

So I believe that the story is good. I am going to do a new cover so right now it has been taken down from Amazon and I am going to be working on my second book.

If you want more BOOK NEWS check back with me next Monday.  Tomorrow I’ll be discussing some PROMOTING TIPS I found.

Until then… Love, Peace & Chicken Grease.

Author: TaQuanda Taylor

TaQuanda Taylor is a native of Rochester, NY. She studied at School of the Arts high school as a drama major. TaQuanda moved to Brooklyn, NY in 2007. In 2011 TaQuanda made an active decision to pursue a career in writing. She enrolled in the Creative Writing for Entertainment program at Full Sail University where she is working on her Bachelors degree in Fine Arts.

Leave a Reply

