Writing Update: My Rewriting Is Getting Out Of Hand

Screenshot 2016-01-20 20.28.33

Hey Love Bugs,

If I’m not mistaken this is my second post of the New Year. I’m trying really hard to start posting more. I feel like this is a little bit of an improvement. Maybe not but I’ll have to check my previous stats.

Anyways…

Onto the purpose of this post. REWRITES. I cannot stop rewriting. That may not sound like a bad thing but the problem is my rewrites are happening right in the middle of my first writes. (laugh out loud Yeah I know that made no sense).

I will write a chapter and then the next day I will rewrite it. Like, I will delete it and then rewrite the entire thing. That is a major reason why this book has been postponed.

When I sit down to rewrite I start telling myself not to delete but it is the hardest thing I have ever had to do (not really). The delete button is my best friend. Especially for someone who is a little self conscious about her writing. I’m pretty sure that what I’ve written isn’t horrible but I always believe that it isn’t good enough. I second guess myself every time and then I delete it all and start over.

I don’t know how I can stop doing this.

Any authors out there going through the same thing or have been through the same thing? Any tips on how to get over this hump? I could really use your help. Please leave a comment and let me know what you think.

Until the next time Love, Peace & Chicken Grease

 

Author: TaQuanda Taylor

TaQuanda Taylor is a native of Rochester, NY. She studied at School of the Arts high school as a drama major. TaQuanda moved to Brooklyn, NY in 2007. In 2011 TaQuanda made an active decision to pursue a career in writing. She enrolled in the Creative Writing for Entertainment program at Full Sail University where she is working on her Bachelors degree in Fine Arts.

4 thoughts on “Writing Update: My Rewriting Is Getting Out Of Hand”

  1. I admit I am someone who does this… and I felt SO tempted when I first started my novel.

    I try to remind myself that the time for editing is AFTER I have finished my first draft, and that my writing is allowed to be crappy.

    In the end, it’s up to you to change your mindset…. good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

