Jonah Answered After A Couple Rings

JONAH ANSWERED AFTER A COUPLE RINGS

LINK TO DAY 8

“How do you know? You just got here,” Mrs. Carter groaned.
“Ma’am what you have is gas. Now I can give you something to help make you feel a little more comfortable but the pain will pass,” Dr. Taylor reassured her.
“I want a different doctor,” she managed to say.
“Okay.” Dr. Taylor didn’t seem fazed by the request at all. Isis followed him out of the room. “Get her something for the gas,” he said, handing the chart to her.
“She wants to see another doctor,” Isis reminded him.
“She won’t make it to that point.”
“How can you be so sure?”
“Because Mrs. Carter followed me here.”
“What?”
“She used to come into the ER at the last hospital I worked at. I don’t know how she knew I was here but she did and she always comes in with gas pains. When I tell her it’ll pass she requests a different doctor.”
“I’ll get right on it. Before I do, you saw my sister today,” Isis said.
“Yes, I did. You never told me your sister was a cop.”
“It must have slipped my mind. Anyways, what was wrong?”
“I can’t discuss that with you.”
“You discuss patients with me all the time. You just discussed Mrs. Carter with me.”
“You were assisting me. I thought it was best if you knew who we were dealing with.”
“It’s my sister.”
“Exactly why I will not be discussing it with you,” he said. “Look, I’ll tell you this and only this.” He placed his hand tenderly on her arm. “Your sister is fine.”
“Really? That’s all you’re going to give me?”
“Really,” he laughed. “Don’t worry. You’re sister is one tough chick.”
“I know. That’s why I’m surprised that she was even here.”
“I really want to kiss you right now,” he said. He leaned in really closely.
“If you did someone would see.”
“Then I’ll have to wait until we’re alone. Don’t worry about your sister.” He turned and walked away.
That was easy for him to say. Isis knew she shouldn’t worry but she couldn’t help herself and she didn’t think she should have to be the only one. Before Isis took care of Mrs. Carter and her gas, she needed to make a phone call.
Isis took her phone out of the pocket on her scrubs and hit one of the speed dials. Jonah answered after a couple rings.
“What’s up?”
“Genesis was in the ER.”
“What?” Jonah’s voice raised a few octaves. Isis knew her sister would join in on the worrying.
“She was leaving as I was coming in.”
“Did you find out what happened? Is she okay?”
“She said she would tell me when I got home tonight.”
“I’m going to call her.”
“Okay. Bye.”
“Bye.”
They disconnected the call.
Isis walked back into Mrs. Carter’s room with some medicine. The air was instantly knocked out of her. There was such a foul smell in the room. Mrs. Carter must have relieved her gas.
She was out of her hospital gown and dressed in her clothes.
“I feel much better dear. I guess you two were right,” she said.
Isis was too afraid to speak so she just nodded. She wished that she had a mask or a giant can of air freshener.
“I’ll get your discharge papers,” Isis said, trying not to breath in.

Author: TaQuanda Taylor

TaQuanda Taylor is a native of Rochester, NY. She studied at School of the Arts high school as a drama major. TaQuanda moved to Brooklyn, NY in 2007. In 2011 TaQuanda made an active decision to pursue a career in writing. She enrolled in the Creative Writing for Entertainment program at Full Sail University where she is working on her Bachelors degree in Fine Arts.

One thought on “Jonah Answered After A Couple Rings”

Leave a Reply

