Writing Goals

Hey Guys,

I’m back with Day 2 of the 500-word challenge. Before I get into the rest of the challenge I just want to say that I thought this challenge would give me something to write about each day. Boy was I wrong.

Apparently I choose what I want to write each day and then write it.

That leads me into today’s challenge.

Today’s challenge is to write about what motivated me to do this challenge.

There are two reasons why I decided to do this challenge.

Reason one, I want to become a better writer. I absolutely love to write. I’ve been writing since I was fourteen years old when my great aunt gave me a journal and I wrote my first short story.

It is a real passion of mine but just loving to write isn’t enough. Someone could love to act but if they can’t act then won’t get to live out their dream of actually being an actor/actress. You get it right?

If I’m bad at writing, it doesn’t matter how many books I write if no one is interested in reading them.

I hope that makes sense.

I doubt myself all of the time. Plus, I used to say that my mom would tell me if what I wrote was bad but I’m starting to think that she is going easy on me out of fear that she will hurt my feelings.

I admit to being sensitive but I want to know the truth. I can’t get better or know what I need to change if the feedback is being sugar coated. So I doubt myself even more because I don’t believe that I’m getting honest feedback.

With that being said my other reason for doing this challenge is to finish my second book. Hopefully, my writing will improve as I do this challenge and it will translate in the finishing of this book.

That is what I will be writing for the next 29 days.

I will be working on my book and possibly giving you guys a sneak peek along the way.

If you have read any of my previous blog posts, then you are aware that my book is set to be released April 6, 2015. So it is very important that I finish it on time. I technically only have a few chapters left and I am fighting the urge to delete is all and start from the beginning.

I just don’t have the time for that.

So, each day (unless otherwise instructed) I will be using my 500 words to work on my book. That is my ultimate goal.

You guys know I struggle with sticking with a word count so this will really push me as a writer.

I’m not sure how to plan this all out.

I’m trying not to but I think I might start from the beginning. Not necessarily deleting what I’ve already written. It will be more along the lines of tweaking what I’ve written and finishing up the entire book.

So, I’ll see you guys tomorrow.

Until then… Love, Peace and Chicken Grease.

Word count: 504

Author: TaQuanda Taylor

TaQuanda Taylor is a native of Rochester, NY. She studied at School of the Arts high school as a drama major. TaQuanda moved to Brooklyn, NY in 2007. In 2011 TaQuanda made an active decision to pursue a career in writing. She enrolled in the Creative Writing for Entertainment program at Full Sail University where she is working on her Bachelors degree in Fine Arts.

1 thought on “Writing Goals”

  1. I’m looking forward to traveling this road with you as well. I totally understand what you mean regarding honest feedback that helps you grow as a writing. It’s difficult to obtain. I’m submitting to agents because before anything actually sells I just need real critique. I fear being the artist that basically should have never made it to the voting rounds of American Idol or anywhere near Hollywood for that matter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

