500 Words

So, today I signed up for a 31-day challenge. What is this challenge you ask? Well, for 31-days I have to write 500 words a way.

Not sure I’m going to make it. I’m not very good with things like this. You know the whole, write 100 words or whatever. This is going to be a challenge but I want to become a better writer and I think this will be the best way. I mean a good way to achieve that.

(I so wanted to edit myself but apparently I’m not supposed to. I’m just supposed to write.)

Today is the first day of the challenge. Well, it is for me. Others have already started.

Anyways.

Day 1, I am supposed to declare my committment to this challenge. So this is my announcement to declare my commitment. This is also a good way for you guys to keep me in check and for me to get back to blogging. It has been a minute.

I wanted to do this challenge because I am almost finish with my second book and I am dealing with a lot of the same feelings I had when I finished my first.

I am so hard on myself and I really want to be considered a good writer. It’s not all about making money from it although I would be lying if I said I didn’t want to make money from writing.

For me, it’s about getting my stories out there. A lot of this business is word of mouth. I read or watch things because I want to not because someone suggested it but not everyone else is like that.

Many won’t read or watch something if it had a bad review.

I could have a good story but if the writing is bad someone will say so and others will listen.

That is my fear.

That is what scare me.

I want you to hear my story and I’m afraid you might not.

So I end up rewriting a million times and probably changes something that was really good.

The things is, I never think it’s any good.

I could rewrite a million times and a millions times I’ll think it’s crap.

Hopefully this challenge will help me get past this fear. Especially because my book is due out April 6 and I still have to get it to the editor.

I hope this works.

So I am not quite at 500 words and I’ve run out of things to talk about. lol. So I can give you the link to the site for the challenge if you’re interested.

http://my500words.com/

I’m hoping that this will take up some of the words I need to complete day one of this challenge.

This is hard and it’s only day one.

To all of my fellow writers out there join me in this challenge. And if not you can just watch me struggle along. Believe me this will be a struggle.

Am I at 500 words yet?

Oh, something I forgot to tell you.

Hopefully you won’t have to read my ramblings because each day I am given a topic to write on. I think that will make this challenge more interesting.

And I’m done.

Word count: 540

Until tomorrow… Love, Peace and Chicken Grease.

Author: TaQuanda Taylor

TaQuanda Taylor is a native of Rochester, NY. She studied at School of the Arts high school as a drama major. TaQuanda moved to Brooklyn, NY in 2007. In 2011 TaQuanda made an active decision to pursue a career in writing. She enrolled in the Creative Writing for Entertainment program at Full Sail University where she is working on her Bachelors degree in Fine Arts.

Leave a Reply

