Speak To Me

Hey Guys,

I wasn’t planning on posting for a while but I felt the need to. First let me start out by saying Happy New Years. I hope everyone had a good and safe time.

Now on to the reason I am posting. I am currently dealing with the worst case of writer’s block that I have ever dealt with. I have never been this stuck. I’m trying very hard to finish my second book Entangled Hearts but at the moment I have no idea what I’m doing next. I have heard people say to just keep writing and the block will pass but I don’t want to write nonsense. I am trying to make this a career after all. Instead I opted to wait until my characters speak to me and tell me what happens next in their story. The only problems is… they’re not talking. Not sure why they have picked this time to remain silent. Guess we’ll give it another day.

Until next time… Love, Peace and Chicken Grease.

Author: TaQuanda Taylor

TaQuanda Taylor is a native of Rochester, NY. She studied at School of the Arts high school as a drama major. TaQuanda moved to Brooklyn, NY in 2007. In 2011 TaQuanda made an active decision to pursue a career in writing. She enrolled in the Creative Writing for Entertainment program at Full Sail University where she is working on her Bachelors degree in Fine Arts.

2 thoughts on “Speak To Me”

  1. Hi! I do the ‘just write’ thing when I block but I do it on paper with a pen and when the rubbish stops and the better stuff starts flowing I swap to my computer and get it down properly. It’s sort of like warming up the muscle.
    Also, I just read an article which contained the following quotes from writers about WB:
    “One of the most difficult things is the first paragraph. I have spent many months on a first paragraph, and once I get it, the rest just comes out very easily.” – Gabriel Garcia Marquez

    “The secret of getting ahead is getting started. The secret of getting started is breaking your complex overwhelming tasks into small manageable tasks, and then starting on the first one.” – Mark Twain

    “I’ve often said that there’s no such thing as writer’s block; the problem is idea block. When I find myself frozen–whether I’m working on a brief passage in a novel or brainstorming about an entire book–it’s usually because I’m trying to shoehorn an idea into the passage or story where it has no place.” – Jeffrey Deaver

    “If I waited for perfection, I would never write a word.” – Margaret Atwood

    “What I try to do is write. I may write for two weeks ‘the cat sat on the mat, that is that, not a rat.’ And it might be just the most boring and awful stuff. But I try. When I’m writing, I write. And then it’s as if the muse is convinced that I’m serious and says, ‘Okay. Okay. I’ll come.'” – Maya Angelou

    “I think writer’s block is simply the dread that you are going to write something horrible. But as a writer, I believe that if you sit down at the keys long enough, sooner or later something will come out.” – Roy Blount, Jr.

    “Close the door. Write with no one looking over your shoulder. Don’t try to figure out what other people want to hear from you; figure out what you have to say. It’s the one and only thing you have to offer.” – Barbara Kingsolver

    “Writing is 90 percent procrastination: reading magazines, eating cereal out of the box, watching infomercials. It’s a matter of doing everything you can to avoid writing, until it is about four in the morning and you reach the point where you have to write.” – Paul Rudnick

    I hope something in that lot helps! X

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

