Clean Up Your Social Footprint

Hey guys,

I’m back and with step 7 on our list to marketing ourselves are our books.

Step 7 – Clean up your social footprint

I did a little research to be sure that I understood what this step entailed. From my research I learned that your social footprint is a trail that you leave behind every time you interact on social media.

Ways to clean up this footprint, according to online site socialmediatoday.com

  1. See What Comes Up.
    1. I’ve Googled my name before (I’m sure you have too) and quite a few sites come up. Things I don’t even remember signing up for.
  2. Delete Inactive Accounts.
    1. During one of the many times that I’ve googled my name I went ahead and shut down any accounts I am not using. It’s been a while since I have done so, so I will need to go back through and take another go at it.
  3. Limit Access to Social Media Information.
    1. I’ve set up a Author Page on Facebook so my personal page is private. I have received requests from individuals that I do not know and in the past I would not accept them but lately I have been. For the individuals that I do not know personally, I will soon be directing them to my professional page and removing them from my personal page.
  4. Conceal Questionable Material.
    1. This is something that I have been working at before reading this step. It is a slow process but I am working to remove many of my photos from Facebook.
  5. Watch Your Words.
    1. I’m sure we have all been there. Something is bothering you and you take it to Facebook. (Come on, I can’t be the only one.) This is a work in progress for me. I try very hard to keep certain things off of social media, but this is why I like that I have my personal page separate from my professional page.
  6. Change Your Name.
    1. I use my real name for pretty much all of my sites, or some variation of my name, but if you are trying to do something professional I think changing your name would be a good idea.
  7. Be Wary of Future Posts and Tagging.
    1. I think this last step just sums up the previous steps.

Considering that I’ve done most of this in the past and that I am still working to improve on some, I guess I can mark step 7 off of my list. I’m not sure how this is helping to increase my web presence if I am reducing what I am doing on social media but I think that this is a good tip for anyone no matter what your business.

Let me know if you’ve tried any of the steps so far on this list and how it turned out for you. Be sure to check back for step 8.

Until next time… Love, Peace and Chicken Grease.

Author: TaQuanda Taylor

TaQuanda Taylor is a native of Rochester, NY. She studied at School of the Arts high school as a drama major. TaQuanda moved to Brooklyn, NY in 2007. In 2011 TaQuanda made an active decision to pursue a career in writing. She enrolled in the Creative Writing for Entertainment program at Full Sail University where she is working on her Bachelors degree in Fine Arts.

Leave a Reply

