To Pay Or Not To Pay

As a self-published author I am not interested in spending a whole lot of money. Mainly because I do not have a whole lot of money. I have been positive that this will not be a costly endeavor. With my first book I did everything myself. I created my own cover and I did my own editing. This time around, I think it may be time to shell out some cash. I can’t edit my own work. I know this. Even if I let it sit for a while before reading it again. It is just not positive to edit my own work. Why? Because it looks just fine to me. So as much as it will pain me to do, I am going to have to hire an editor. It is a necessary evil. I want this next book and any books after to be really good. The millions of mistakes that I had in the first book, I do not want in the second. Now I just have to find a editor.

Author: TaQuanda Taylor

TaQuanda Taylor is a native of Rochester, NY. She studied at School of the Arts high school as a drama major. TaQuanda moved to Brooklyn, NY in 2007. In 2011 TaQuanda made an active decision to pursue a career in writing. She enrolled in the Creative Writing for Entertainment program at Full Sail University where she is working on her Bachelors degree in Fine Arts.

2 thoughts on “To Pay Or Not To Pay”

  1. Yeah, I don’t think authors should do a final edit of their own work. Revise, yes, but actual editing? No. Hiring an editor will definitely be worth it, I think. Good luck finding an editor, and good luck with the book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

