Hi, My Name Is…

Well, this blog could be called, “This Should Have Been My First Post.”

I’ve been doing a lot a thinking and decided that I wanted to blog today. So here it goes.

Hi, my name is TaQuanda Taylor and I am a published author. It’s been about a month and a half but it still sounds weird saying it out loud. And yes, if you are wondering I am a published author. More important, I am a SELF published author.

I knew that self-publishing was not going to be easy and I wasn’t expecting to become a overnight success but I did not expect for it to be THIS hard.

I feel like most of my time is spent trying to promote my book and yet sales are still very low.

So I’ve decided to look up a few tips and trick of the trade to try and use to help improve sales. You know, like most writers I want to spend my time writing and not working a low paying job just to pay the bills. At the moment that is not possible but I’m hoping that someday it will be. I made one dream come true and that was publishing a book. It’s just a matter of time for my next dream to come true. I’m trying to think positive here.

I found a website that lists over 100 tricks for marketing yourself and improving sales. First on the list is Create a testimonial page on your website.

So I did. I set up a testimonial page to put any reviews for the book. The thing is… I’ve only received one review. http://www.taquandataylor.com/#!testimonials/cnqh

The book has sold. It hasn’t sold much but it has sold. So, creating a testimonial page almost felt pointless. In my opinion. I’m not even sure if anybody is even stopping by the website and I’m not sure how to encourage people to write reviews.

Well, step one was a bit of a fail.

I’m going to go work on my second book but stop by later this week when I talk about step 2 Retweak the SEO on your site.

I’m going to continue to post about any projects I’m working on (currently Entangled Hearts book on of my Lovers series) and about my experience as a self published author.

Until next time… Love, Peace and Chicken Grease.

Author: TaQuanda Taylor

TaQuanda Taylor is a native of Rochester, NY. She studied at School of the Arts high school as a drama major. TaQuanda moved to Brooklyn, NY in 2007. In 2011 TaQuanda made an active decision to pursue a career in writing. She enrolled in the Creative Writing for Entertainment program at Full Sail University where she is working on her Bachelors degree in Fine Arts.

Leave a Reply

